keito potato


iced coffee
May 14, 2009, 9:32 pm
Filed under: drinks, recipes | Tags:

This weekend I volunteered at the Fair Trade coffee booth for the Southern California Mennonite Relief Sale http://mcc.org.  I ordered the beans from Just Coffee, an old contact from my fair trade days.  These particular beans were from a small cooperative in Guatemala that previously had been farmed by slave labor.  The new coop farmers are former guerrillas, who have essentially turned machetes into plowshares.  You can read more about the farm here

Since it was a hot weekend, we knew we would sell more iced coffee than hot.  At last year’s sale, we made iced coffee by brewing hot coffee and chilling it.  The results were adequate, and the only real flavor came from the sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, and cinnamon we added at the end.

This year we tried the cold-brewing method that Just Coffee provided on their website.  The recipe makes a thick concentrate.  The concoction is more stable, with a refrigerated shelf life of 2 weeks.  I decided to trust the experts, and got out a few gallon jars to make enough concentrate for the weekend sale.

coffee 004.1

The results were perfect, and I have become a convert to the cold-breweing method.  When the weather gets hotter, I plan on keeping a jar of this concentrate in my fridge.  I was so pleased with this new technique that I couldn’t help but share it with all of you.


ICED COFFEE CONCENTRATE RECIPE

1/2 lb coffee grounds

5 cups room temperature water


METHOD:

Combine coffee grounds and room temperature water in a large jar or pitcher.   Allow to sit 12 hours.  Pour through a coffee filter or very fine mesh strainer to remove the grounds.  Refrigerate.

Serve over ice mixed 1 part to 3 parts water or milk (for example: 1/4 cup concentrate and 3/4 cup milk).  At our coffee booth, we added a shot of sweetened condensed milk that had been thinned a bit with milk and vanilla.  That kept the customers happy.  This afternoon at home I have made a few cups of iced coffee, but since I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, I kept it simple with coffee concentrate and milk.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the low-tech, no-cook, “sun tea” approach to the coffee concentrate. I will definitely try that this summer. Mmmm!

Comment by Christina

I am looking forward to trying out this coffee recipe. Right after you posted this, I read an article about making iced coffee this way. Interesting.

Comment by Jenny

I did make this coffee and it is wonderful! I love how smooth and strong it is.

Comment by Jenny

I’m definitely going to try this!

Comment by Sue




Leave a Reply

